Stupid question time: How to buy a "Preferred" share?

Discuss your favourite picks, broker, and trading or investment style.
kombat
Contributor
Contributor

Stupid question time: How to buy a "Preferred" share?

Post by kombat »

Hey guys,

I know this is probably a dumb question, but nevertheless, I'm relatively new to this.

I would like to buy some "preferred" shares of Canadian banks. Let's say, specifically, RBC. I wish to do this within my RRSP, which is in my TD Waterhouse brokerage account.

So I log into my TD Waterhouse account, and go to the "Buy Order" screen. How the heck to I find/specify the "preferred" shares of RBC? Is it a particular stock ticker symbol? And is there a way for me to specify that dividends be automatically used to purchase more of the same "preferred" shares?

Thanks for any guidance.
Descartes
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Re: Stupid question time: How to buy a "Preferred" share?

Post by Descartes »

It is a specific stock ticker; for example, RY.PR.C is the ticker for the series C preferred share for RBC.
Mr. Hymas, as always, is a valuable resource: here you can find a list of popular preferreds by ticker.
"A dividend is a dictate of management. A capital gain is a whim of the market."
Jaunty
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Post by Jaunty »

Yes, each preferred has its own symbol. At BMO OL and iScotia, they would be entered as RY.PR.A or RY.PR.B where RY is the company (bank) PR is preferred and the final letter indicates the particular preferred/series you wish to purchase. I have one program that uses commas in the place of some of the periods. I don't use TD Waterhouse so I don't know if the periods will do the trick. Maybe you could go into their stock quote screen and enter it the way I do and see if you get a quote (or just call them!).
Nemo2
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Post by Nemo2 »