Miscellaneous Quicken Questions

Saving strategies, maximizing interest rates, budgeting.

Does Quicken download TDW transactions?

Postby marcharry » 19 Sep 2005 16:14

My 2002 quicken is no longer supported. I was going to upgrade to 2006 (XG - is for Canada?) so that I can try to download the transactions.

Is it able to download the TDW brokerage transactions? I have no interest in the credit card or banking stuff - I use the software just for keeping track of the transactions - especially non-registered taxable accounts.

In the past I have entered the buys, sells, dividends etc manually.

I know there are a number of quicken experts among us.
marcharry
Silver Ring
Silver Ring
 
Posts: 220
Joined: 22 Feb 2005 17:44
Location: Toronto

Re: Does Quicken download TDW transactions?

Postby Bylo Selhi » 19 Sep 2005 16:40

marcharry wrote:My 2002 quicken is no longer supported.

Sez who? It works fine with TD EasyWeb and there's nothing on their site that says it is or will be unsupported. (Q02's days are numbered. The US version is now unsupported in the US.)

2006 (XG - is for Canada?)

Yes.

Is it able to download the TDW brokerage transactions?

AFAIK, no. (That feature has been available in the US version for years, i.e. to download transaction from TD WH US.)
Sedulously eschew obfuscatory hyperverbosity and prolixity.
User avatar
Bylo Selhi
Diamond Ring
Diamond Ring
 
Posts: 23255
Joined: 16 Feb 2005 11:36
Location: Waterloo, ON

Postby marcharry » 19 Sep 2005 18:09

Thx Bylo

You are correct; I got an email from US Intuit.

Too bad that it does not download the brokerage transactions - that would be the big online win for me.
marcharry
Silver Ring
Silver Ring
 
Posts: 220
Joined: 22 Feb 2005 17:44
Location: Toronto

More Problems with Quicken

Postby kenj » 30 Jun 2007 03:19

In addition to the Quicken stock quote problem that everyone is experiencing I seem to have an additional problem that I can't quite figure out.

I'm using Quicken XG and when I open my portfolio all dollar figures are shown correctly with two decimal places such as Price, Cost Basis, Market Value, Realized Gain, etc. However, any column with a percentage such as ROI, % Gain, % Invested, etc., the two decimal places are not there. What should read as 68.34 reads only 68.

How do I get the percentages in my portfolio to display two decimal places?

Strangely enough my Quicken XG portfolio used to display all percentages with two decimal places but my computer crashed a week ago and I had to reinstall Windows XP, reinstall my Quicken software and import my backed up Quicken files. Since then I simply cannot get the percentages to display correctly.

Within Quicken I've already clicked on "Edit", "Preferences", "Reports and Graphs" and changed the "Decimal Places for Prices and Shares" to 3 but that doesn't have any effect, of course, on the percentages display.

I've also clicked on "Start", "Control Panel", "Regional and Language Options", "Customize", and then the "Numbers" tab" and changed "No. of digits after decimal" to 2 but the percentages in the portfolio still look like XX. and not XX.XX.

Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

Help is appreciated.
kenj
Bronze Ring
Bronze Ring
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 19 Feb 2005 02:58
Location: Japan

Postby 2 yen » 30 Jun 2007 07:47

I sympathize with you. I can't help, but longer term, we all might be needing to ask each other which service we use to create / download portfolios and then which software to play with the downloads.
2 yen
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
 
Posts: 1841
Joined: 09 Apr 2005 09:15

Postby AltaRed » 30 Jun 2007 10:56

Don't know either but you might post the question on the Intuit Quicken forum.

As noted in the other thread, Quicken seems to be having trouble with the 'quote server' source data for price updates, i.e. it is not necessarily their problem, but their provider's problem, i.e. Yahoo, or equivalent.

FWIW, when I did my usual Saturday morning price update, I noticed I did not get any price update data for US domiciled stocks yet (June 29 only). All other price update data looks fine.
User avatar
AltaRed
Diamond Ring
Diamond Ring
 
Posts: 12325
Joined: 05 Mar 2005 21:04
Location: Ogopogo Land

Postby 2 yen » 30 Jun 2007 11:14

If Yahoo is the Quicken provider, I can tell you that it has been baked for about a week now.
2 yen
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
 
Posts: 1841
Joined: 09 Apr 2005 09:15

Miscellaneous Quicken Questions

Postby JohnMorgan » 17 Aug 2007 13:52

Anyone remember TIPS35? How do you enter/categorize (in Quicken) the change from TIPS35 to XIU? Canadian Shareowners transferred out/transferred in (but the share number wasn't the same), but how does that affect ACB, rate of return etc. Any suggestions?
JohnMorgan
Bronze Ring
Bronze Ring
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 18 Mar 2005 14:36

Re: A quick Quicken question

Postby Bylo Selhi » 17 Aug 2007 14:00

JohnMorgan wrote:Anyone remember TIPS35? How do you enter/categorize (in Quicken) the change from TIPS35 to XIU?

I remember TIPS35 (and HIPS) but I can't remember how I handled the transition to XIU in Quicken. That said, here's what I'd do if I had it to do again.

1. Record your ACB for TIPS.
2. In Quicken, do a ShrsOut of all TIPS shares.
3. Now do a ShrsIn of XIU using the ACB from 1.
Sedulously eschew obfuscatory hyperverbosity and prolixity.
User avatar
Bylo Selhi
Diamond Ring
Diamond Ring
 
Posts: 23255
Joined: 16 Feb 2005 11:36
Location: Waterloo, ON

TIPS35/XIU/QUICKEN

Postby JohnMorgan » 17 Aug 2007 18:34

Thank you for quick reply.Am now at home and looking at this. In the drop down menu for transaction entry, 'Add' and 'Remove' seem to be the closest options to Shrsout/in. However in Remove there is nowhere to enter $ amounts, just number of shares; whereas in Add, there is 'price paid per share'. Also they didn't give a price for either of the securities at the time of swap. I'm not clear how all this washes for ACB of XIU in the long run. Quicken help, of course, doesn't. Is this time for near enough being good enough???
JohnMorgan
Bronze Ring
Bronze Ring
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 18 Mar 2005 14:36

Re: TIPS35/XIU/QUICKEN

Postby Bylo Selhi » 17 Aug 2007 19:56

JohnMorgan wrote:In the drop down menu for transaction entry, 'Add' and 'Remove' seem to be the closest options to Shrsout/in.
Yeah. I used Quicken 2002 terminology. I see that they've changed it to Add and Remove in more recent versions.

However in Remove there is nowhere to enter $ amounts, just number of shares; whereas in Add, there is 'price paid per share'.
In Quicken 2007 (at least) Remove asks for both number of shares and share price. Use ACB divided by the number of shares to get the latter. Then similarly when you do the Add, use ACB divided by the number of new shares to get the "book" share price. You want to make sure that the transactions both occur at the ACB value, not market value. The next time you update stock prices Quicken will find the current NAV and compute the current market value of your position.

I'm not clear how all this washes for ACB of XIU in the long run.
As long as the ACB on your XIU holding is the same as the ACB on your TIPS35 holding, regardless of the number of shares of either, the taxman should be happy.
Sedulously eschew obfuscatory hyperverbosity and prolixity.
User avatar
Bylo Selhi
Diamond Ring
Diamond Ring
 
Posts: 23255
Joined: 16 Feb 2005 11:36
Location: Waterloo, ON

TIPS35/XIU/QUICKEN

Postby JohnMorgan » 27 Aug 2007 11:38

Thank you. It all looks pretty reasonable now.
JohnMorgan
Bronze Ring
Bronze Ring
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 18 Mar 2005 14:36

Foreign non-resident tax deducted at source // Quicken XG 20

Postby JohnMorgan » 14 Oct 2007 19:35

Whats the best way of keeping track of this?
Not necessarily precise tax treatment but even keeping track for each security.
Thank you.
JohnMorgan
Bronze Ring
Bronze Ring
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 18 Mar 2005 14:36

how do i enter cap gains distribution for XDV on quicken?

Postby nile » 08 Jan 2008 22:17

how do i add the distributon to affect my ACB without affecting all the other parameters on quicken 2007

thanks all

nile
nile
Bronze Ring
Bronze Ring
 
Posts: 90
Joined: 07 Feb 2007 09:42

Re: how do i enter cap gains distribution for XDV on quicken

Postby Bylo Selhi » 08 Jan 2008 22:33

nile wrote:how do i add the distributon to affect my ACB without affecting all the other parameters on quicken 2007

See a previous thread starting at about here.

("RtnCapX" is what Q02 calls it. Q07 calls it "RtrnCapX." Same difference.)
Sedulously eschew obfuscatory hyperverbosity and prolixity.
User avatar
Bylo Selhi
Diamond Ring
Diamond Ring
 
Posts: 23255
Joined: 16 Feb 2005 11:36
Location: Waterloo, ON

Postby nile » 08 Jan 2008 23:23

thanks

that was simple!!

nile
nile
Bronze Ring
Bronze Ring
 
Posts: 90
Joined: 07 Feb 2007 09:42

Tracking in Quicken

Postby infopls » 14 Jan 2008 20:06

I know that many here use Quicken to track their investments and I need some advice about starting..
I have been tracking my investments using Globe..mutual funds since 1998 and stocks since 2000 but have been hestitate to start tracking in Quicken...overwhelmed by the task of imputing all figures!
So..can I start now...say by using Dec. 31, 2007 as the start date???
IF..I use that date..what figures should I use to get the most accurate results in the future? Hope this question makes sense...
Any tips greatly appreciated.
infopls
Bronze Ring
Bronze Ring
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 02:28
Location: Ontario

Postby Bylo Selhi » 14 Jan 2008 20:56

Depends on what you want to accomplish.

If you're just maintaining records for tax purposes then all you'd need to "import" into Quicken would be, for each security, the number of shares and the ACB. (If it's a US security you'll also need to calculate the blended FX rate for all purchases and sales of that security.)

If you want to calculate things like IRR and/or produce nice-looking historical charts, etc. then you'll need to "import" all the transactions. That could be impractical if you have a lot of history.

Have you investigated if Globefund has any export features, either in CSV or QIF formats? If so that would make it very easy to import all the historical data into Quicken.
Sedulously eschew obfuscatory hyperverbosity and prolixity.
User avatar
Bylo Selhi
Diamond Ring
Diamond Ring
 
Posts: 23255
Joined: 16 Feb 2005 11:36
Location: Waterloo, ON

Postby DenisD » 14 Jan 2008 22:41

Another possibility is to cut and paste your Globefund transactions into a spreadsheet. Then convert them into a format accepted by Quicken.
DenisD
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
 
Posts: 1762
Joined: 19 Feb 2005 02:24
Location: Calgary

Tracking in Quicken

Postby infopls » 14 Jan 2008 23:36

Thanks Bylo for your suggestions..
I decided to take a chance and have just downloaded my accounts from TDW...will work with the results and may be back for more advice once I have worked with the figures.
**
Dennis..I hate to admit it BUT.. spreadsheets 'terrify' me even more than Quicken! Perhaps a project for my spare time, eh!
Thanks..
infopls
Bronze Ring
Bronze Ring
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 02:28
Location: Ontario

Real-return bond fund in Quicken

Postby queerasmoi » 23 Jun 2008 11:39

I'm aware that XRB has an odd tax treatment: The inflation appreciation of this real-return bond fund is reflected in its NAV and investors are taxed on it as reinvested interest; meanwhile the actual interest component is paid out.

I was thinking about how to enter this properly in Quicken, which I believe has no proper "interest reinvested but not in extra shares" option. Suppose I get $110 in reinvested interest and $130 in cash interest. Then I could enter:

1) An interest dividend of $240: tax treatment is now correct but at this point, my Quicken cash balance will be $110 too high and my ACB will be $110 too low.
2) A *negative* Return Of Capital of $110. This will reduce my cash by $110 and add the same number to ACB. Net result is now correct.

Hope this is useful :) Let me know if you can think of a briefer way.
queerasmoi
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
 
Posts: 2736
Joined: 27 May 2008 16:25

Postby IdOp » 23 Jun 2008 12:00

Another way is to treat it as a reinvested distribution followed by a consolidation. This sort of thing came up on various threads, here are two:

1

2

ISTR another thread, but can't find it. ):
User avatar
IdOp
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
 
Posts: 2397
Joined: 16 Feb 2006 12:27
Location: On the Pacific sea bed, 100 mi off the CA coast.

Postby queerasmoi » 23 Jun 2008 13:03

Okay, thank you, that is intriguing :)

I like the negative ROC idea a bit better just because it avoids twiddling the share balance. Of course it would be awesome if Quicken would just stop "doin it rong".
queerasmoi
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
 
Posts: 2736
Joined: 27 May 2008 16:25

Postby IdOp » 23 Jun 2008 15:51

I think this was the other thread. Hop into it at this post.
User avatar
IdOp
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
 
Posts: 2397
Joined: 16 Feb 2006 12:27
Location: On the Pacific sea bed, 100 mi off the CA coast.

Quicken online

Postby svt » 21 Oct 2008 02:05

Anyone using quicken online? Apparently the online version is free now. I have some (major) qualms about keeping my data secure. Thoughts on security?
svt
Bronze Ring
Bronze Ring
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 26 Apr 2007 12:04

Next

Return to Under the Mattress: Protecting Your Money

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: beon and 2 guests