Equifax credit score dropped for no apparent reason

Banking and Saving strategies, maximizing interest rates, budgeting, GICs, HISAs.
Scryden
Newcomer
Newcomer

Equifax credit score dropped for no apparent reason

Post by Scryden »

Hello Everyone,

I have a concern about an unexplainable drop on my Equifax credit score.

I am new to the country (came from Europe) and had no credit history yet. I opened a secured Mastercard with RBC with a limit of $1000 to start building up my credit history. This single creditcard is all I have with regards to loans. I have no other debts, no car loans, no mortgage no nothing. Just this creditcard. I always stay below 30% utilization ratio ($300). Everytime I get close to this number, I pay it off. No matter what day of the month it is.
When I receive my new credit card statement, I pay it off in full about a week after I received the statement. So far my score rose every month and I was at a score of 698. However, over the month October my Equifax reported score dropped by 6 points to 692 and I have absolutely no clue why. Like I said, I pay off my statement balances in full about a week after I receive my statements and my utilization ratio never goes beyond 30%. I make multiple payments each month to stay below that number. So what can possibly be the reason it went down by 6 points?

Also, my Transunion score is 713. Not a clue either why it is so far apart from my Equifax score.