Quicken 2016 upgrade - feedback and comments

Banking and Saving strategies, maximizing interest rates, budgeting, GICs, HISAs.
MoresbyBatter
Newcomer
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: 22 Sep 2014 08:08

Re: Quicken 2016 upgrade - feedback and comments

Post by MoresbyBatter » 11 Mar 2017 12:28

Yes, I have exactly the same problem with Quicken and TD with duplicate entries. Doesn't do it all the time, but when it happens, I have to manually delete all the duplicates.

ig17
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
Posts: 2341
Joined: 21 Feb 2005 20:54

Re: Quicken 2016 upgrade - feedback and comments

Post by ig17 » 11 Mar 2017 13:06

Rysto wrote:Does anybody else download transactions from TD EasyWeb into Quicken 2016? The transaction matching feature in Quicken appears to be completely broken, meaning that I am constantly getting some transaction multiple times in my Quicken register. Cleaning this up is becoming immensely frustrating. Is anybody else having this problem?
I don't have this problem. I download a chequing account and a HELOC from TD EasyWeb.

Not sure if this is going to help but try this:

Edit menu --> Preferences...
Register --> Downloaded transactions
Disable the first option: 'Automatically add to banking registers'

Once you disable this option, you will have to manually accept the transactions in the Downloaded Transaction window at the bottom of the registry. You can accept them all at once in one click.

I remember I disabled the automatic entry because I had trouble downloading transactions for one of my credit cards (not from TD).

User avatar
Sumaco
Bronze Ring
Bronze Ring
Posts: 45
Joined: 13 Mar 2013 22:14
Location: Greater Toronto Area

Re: Quicken 2016 upgrade - feedback and comments

Post by Sumaco » 12 Mar 2017 10:20

Rysto wrote:Does anybody else download transactions from TD EasyWeb into Quicken 2016? The transaction matching feature in Quicken appears to be completely broken, meaning that I am constantly getting some transaction multiple times in my Quicken register. Cleaning this up is becoming immensely frustrating. Is anybody else having this problem?
Not for me. I only have one TD Savings account which I transact from and it has been fine pre & post upgrade.
Quicken 2016 R3 (25.1.3.9)
Canadian Edition
--
Okay, who put a "stop payment" on my reality check?

User avatar
Peculiar_Investor
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
Posts: 6931
Joined: 01 Mar 2005 14:52
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: Quicken 2016 upgrade - feedback and comments

Post by Peculiar_Investor » 12 Mar 2017 12:34

After repeated nagging when starting up Quicken 2016, I finally relented and allowed the R3 patch to be applied. Only after the update was completed did Quicken allow me to see "What's new in this update".
Quicken Canada 2016 Release 3 Release Notes (January 2017)

Improved Customer Feedback Reporting
• IMPROVED: Integrated with a new tool which allows customers to provide feedback on bank download connectivity. The new tool allows us to proactively work on fixing issues before you report them to us.
Data File password
• IMPROVED: Introducing the ability to remove forgotten password from a data file by answering security questions, without having to upload the file to a server.
Simplified Password Options
• Updated: Simplified File Password options with support for local file password or no file password.
Patching
• REVAMPED: A modern, self-service patching infrastructure which reduces download duration and reduces the frequency of patching errors.
Authentication
• REVAMPED: A new authentication service from Quicken.

Quicken Canada 2016 Release 2 Release Notes (January 2016)
General
• FIXED: Quicken Main window title bar incorrectly displays as inactive.
• FIXED: Error in calculation and posting date in some cases during reconciliation.
I've also shared this information with the Quicken Community, after all someone might actually find this useful, see Quicken Canada 2016 R3 | Quicken Customer Community.
Imagefiniki, the Canadian financial wiki New editors wanted and welcomed, please help collaborate and improve the wiki.

Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams

Rysto
Silver Ring
Silver Ring
Posts: 106
Joined: 10 Nov 2010 21:16

Re: Quicken 2016 upgrade - feedback and comments

Post by Rysto » 13 Mar 2017 14:57

ig17 wrote:Once you disable this option, you will have to manually accept the transactions in the Downloaded Transaction window at the bottom of the registry. You can accept them all at once in one click.
I already have this option enabled. Unfortunately, it doesn't help, as the pop-up for accepting transactions is pretty freaking useless.

User avatar
Peculiar_Investor
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
Posts: 6931
Joined: 01 Mar 2005 14:52
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: Quicken 2016 upgrade - feedback and comments

Post by Peculiar_Investor » 17 Mar 2017 14:20

When I started Quicken Canada 2016 R3 this morning it wanted to update again. :shock: According to the Check for updates function, "A newer version of Quicken 2016 (Release R3.1) is available for download". I've quickly searched Quicken 2016 for Windows Update and Mondo Patch and there is no indication of a R3.1 for Quicken Canada.

Has anyone else experienced this request to update to Quicken 2016 (Release R3.1)? Has anyone found any information on R3.1 and what it fixes?
Imagefiniki, the Canadian financial wiki New editors wanted and welcomed, please help collaborate and improve the wiki.

Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams

User avatar
AltaRed
Diamond Ring
Diamond Ring
Posts: 18078
Joined: 05 Mar 2005 20:04
Location: Ogopogo Land

Re: Quicken 2016 upgrade - feedback and comments

Post by AltaRed » 17 Mar 2017 15:46

Haven't seen that yet (just loaded it when I saw your post).
Imagefiniki, the Canadian financial wiki The go-to place to bolster your financial freedom

User avatar
Peculiar_Investor
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
Posts: 6931
Joined: 01 Mar 2005 14:52
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: Quicken 2016 upgrade - feedback and comments

Post by Peculiar_Investor » 20 Mar 2017 11:54

After a couple more nags about an update being available, I decided to let Quicken update to R3.1.

At least this time the Update Information appears before I confirm that I want to update. Here are the changes and improvements listed:
Quicken 2016 wrote:Quicken Canada 2016 Release 3.1 Update

Before you update

Note: If you use Bill Pay or Online Transfers, we recommend you perform a One Step Update before installing an update.

Quicken Canada 2016 R3.1 Release Notes (February 2017)

General
  • Fixed: A minor configuration change.
    Imagefiniki, the Canadian financial wiki New editors wanted and welcomed, please help collaborate and improve the wiki.

    Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams

    User avatar
    AltaRed
    Diamond Ring
    Diamond Ring
    Posts: 18078
    Joined: 05 Mar 2005 20:04
    Location: Ogopogo Land

    Re: Quicken 2016 Web Connect problem with RBC?

    Post by AltaRed » 09 Oct 2017 22:38

    Caution: Quicken has an R7 update that allows one to use Quicken with a Mobile App....but results in YOUR data file being in the cloud to be able to sync between devices. If you do not want your data file in the cloud, do not install R7 using the default 'radio button'.
    Imagefiniki, the Canadian financial wiki The go-to place to bolster your financial freedom

    User avatar
    Peculiar_Investor
    Gold Ring
    Gold Ring
    Posts: 6931
    Joined: 01 Mar 2005 14:52
    Location: Calgary
    Contact:

    Re: Quicken 2016 upgrade - feedback and comments

    Post by Peculiar_Investor » 11 Oct 2017 07:40

    AltaRed wrote:
    09 Oct 2017 22:38
    Caution: Quicken has an R7 update that allows one to use Quicken with a Mobile App....but results in YOUR data file being in the cloud to be able to sync between devices. If you do not want your data file in the cloud, do not install R7 using the default 'radio button'.
    I checked the release notes at Quicken 2016 for Windows Update and Mondo Patch under the Release 7 (Canada Versions, Oct 2017) heading and there is no mention of this behaviour change. Quicken says that R7 contains
    Quicken wrote:• Fixed: An issue where web connect import was not working for some Financial Institutions.

    Authentication

    • Fixed: A couple of issues related to Quicken ID migration.

    Critical Update: Sign In and Authentication Change
    • We have replaced Intuit's login service with a new Quicken login service.
      • When you install this update you will be prompted to setup a new Quicken ID.
      • Your new Quicken ID will be used to sign in to Quicken going forward.
      • You may still use your Intuit ID for other Intuit products.
    • This is a required update. Failure to install this update and setup your Quicken ID will result in a loss of connected services.
    Vault Password Change
    • Due to our switch to a Quicken login service, we have removed the ability to protect your Password Vault with an Intuit Password. You may be required to set a new Password Vault password after installing this update. (If you already used a custom Vault password no action will be required.)
    Where did you find or read about the data file being moved into the cloud? The only thing that I could quickly find via Google is What is the Quicken Cloud? which states
    Quicken wrote:If you would like to turn off the Cloud sync from your One Step Update, simply uncheck the box next to Sync to Quicken Cloud in the One Step Update Settings screen.
    Imagefiniki, the Canadian financial wiki New editors wanted and welcomed, please help collaborate and improve the wiki.

    Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams

    User avatar
    AltaRed
    Diamond Ring
    Diamond Ring
    Posts: 18078
    Joined: 05 Mar 2005 20:04
    Location: Ogopogo Land

    Re: Quicken 2016 upgrade - feedback and comments

    Post by AltaRed » 11 Oct 2017 11:47

    It came up in the Update screen when I loaded Quicken. It was somewhat confusing but there were 2 radio buttons, with the default one being the ability to use a Quicken Mobile App on other devices. I obviously picked the other one which limits the update to your quote in your post and does not allow Sync.

    Note that early in the Update screen, I also had to pick Canada at the top of the Update screen (USA was there by default) and that is when the R7 update screen was displayed. I forget exactly the sequence of events I went through, but I had to proactively pick 2 things.... Canada, and the radio button that does not Sync.
    Imagefiniki, the Canadian financial wiki The go-to place to bolster your financial freedom

    User avatar
    Peculiar_Investor
    Gold Ring
    Gold Ring
    Posts: 6931
    Joined: 01 Mar 2005 14:52
    Location: Calgary
    Contact:

    Re: Quicken 2016 upgrade - feedback and comments

    Post by Peculiar_Investor » 11 Oct 2017 11:55

    Thanks. One of my annoyances with Quicken (and other applications) is the update process is launched before they provide any information on what's contained in the update and what new steps/changes such as you've outlined might be required. I initially declined the R7 update after reading your post. Now that I've gone to the Quicken Release Notes page to read about the changes and read your reply, I might be more inclined to proceed.
    Imagefiniki, the Canadian financial wiki New editors wanted and welcomed, please help collaborate and improve the wiki.

    Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams

    User avatar
    AltaRed
    Diamond Ring
    Diamond Ring
    Posts: 18078
    Joined: 05 Mar 2005 20:04
    Location: Ogopogo Land

    Re: Quicken 2016 upgrade - feedback and comments

    Post by AltaRed » 11 Oct 2017 12:06

    Indeed. I am pissed off that they throw the update at you as soon as you launch Quicken. I proceeded carefully but there is quite a bit of information in the Update screen once you launch the Update. The key thing is to latch on to those 2 selections... picking Canada (the update should know that already but doesn't) and to pick the radio button that avoids Sync, etc.
    Imagefiniki, the Canadian financial wiki The go-to place to bolster your financial freedom

    Post Reply