Can one rent from his incorporation?

Leveraging, renting vs owning, making an investment or buying a home?
mragile
Contributor
Contributor

Can one rent from his incorporation?

Post by mragile »

I am just starting out and I am hoping to maximize my spending/saving without doing ANYTHING illegal.
I plan to incorporate my practise and intend to buy real estates.
Is it possible/legal to be a tenant in one of these properties and pay rent? I haven't quite thought it through but I wonder if it will loosen up some cash I would have used for down payment on a home for investing.
What do you guys think?
twa2w
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Re: Can one rent from his incorporation?

Post by twa2w »

Are you planning on renting a space from your corporation for your professional practice? Or for your personal residence.

If for your practice, most professionals have a separate corporation to hold realestate, including space they rent to their professional Corp. In fact the Corp that holds the real estate is often owned by the spouse.

This keeps liability issues clear as well as income and tax issues.

How this is set up may depend to some extent on what province you are in,whatprofession you are in and your marital/ children status.

In some cases your professional Corp may own the building your practice is in but this is rare.

Best to find a good accountant and lawyer and listen to their advice. Youwill need good advisors.
Remember to that whatworks best when starting out, may not be good advice once you are more established.
mragile
Contributor
Contributor

Post by mragile »

Thanks twa2w.
I plan to rent as residence.
twa2w
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Post by twa2w »

You can rent from your own corporation if you like. Just don't put the real estate in your prof Corp.

Again a good lawyer, accountant are good to cultivate early for good advice.