First time mortgage questions

Leveraging, renting vs owning, making an investment or buying a home?
qwimjim
Contributor
Contributor

First time mortgage questions

Post by qwimjim »

Hi, just a couple of questions as this is my first time. We will be buying a $300,000 house with a $150,000 down payment. Is there any reason not to take a fixed 5 year variable rate mortgage right now? RBC is quoting me prime minus 0.60% = 2.25%. They said I can make a once a year 10% lump sum payment on the mortgage, and I can double monthly payments.. so say payments are $650/month I could contribute an additional $650 per month that would go towards capital. So that's around $23,000 a year I can pay down the mortgage ahead of schedule without penalty which is more than I would ever be able to pay it down in that time frame.

They said I could convert to fixed rate anytime I wanted, and if I wanted to sell my house and didn't purchase another house or need a mortgage anymore before the 5 year term is up, then the penalty would be 3 months interest or approx $850. They said there's also an interest differential penalty that can be levied but that's only usually done with fixed rate mortgages when the rates go down. They said with a variable 5 year it could only happen if the discount off prime increased and even then it would be small.

So do I have a pretty good understanding of what I'm getting into? Is there anything else I should know before getting a variable 5 year mortgage?

Also is there any reason to go with someone like true north financial instead of RBC which is offering prime -0.75 or 2.05%?

Thanks!
Just a Guy
Contributor
Contributor

Re: First time mortgage questions

Post by Just a Guy »

There is nothing wrong with variable mortgages unless rates go up significantly.