How to download data?

Discuss your favourite picks, broker, and trading or investment style.
George$
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

How to download data?

Post by George$ »

I'm trying to study the stock price variability (of GE for example) over an extended time period (say 40 years) and download the data into an Excel sheet on my computer.

I've never done this before and I need help.

In going to Yahoo at http://finance.yahoo.com/q/hp?s=GE
I can get a download and load the closing (daily, weekly or monthly prices) into an Excel but the prices are not adjusted for stock splits.

I hope I don't have to do this manually - or do I?
NormR
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Post by NormR »

I'm trying to study the stock price variability (of GE for example) over an extended time period (say 40 years) and download the data into an Excel sheet on my computer.
Use I.E. and the upgraded charts at

http://moneycentral.msn.com/investor/ch ... ?Symbol=ge

to download direct to .xls
gummy
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Post by gummy »

At the link you posted (to GE historical prices), it says (about the *Adj. Close):
* Close price adjusted for dividends and splits.

This spreadsheet does it ... using the prices called *Adj. Close
http://www.gummy-stuff.org/SS/simplest-download.xls

A gaggle of other, more sophisticated spreadsheets that download prices are available here:
http://www.gummy-stuff.org/SS/
They usually have names that include the word download.

There's some here, too:
kent
Newcomer
Newcomer

downloading intraday data

Post by kent »

Does anyone know how to access and download intraday stock quotes on Canadian Stocks?

You can get 10 days of 5-minute data on US stocks on MSN, both the chart and exportable data.

Both Yahoo and Bigcharts have minute by minute charts for Canadian stocks, but is there a set of codes that enables you to get at the data itself, say from the Yahoo server?