Technical analysis anyone?

Discuss your favourite picks, broker, and trading or investment style.

Interested in technical analysis?

Yes, use it all the time.
12%
Yes, but not seriously.
17%
Yes, I'm just learning about it.
14%
No, unfamiliar with it.
9%
No, tried it but don't use it.
4%
No, it's a load o' crap!
40%
"Get a life and stop asking stupid questions!" (as per Shakespeares' request)
5%

Total votes: 127

tr.invest
Contributor
Contributor

Technical analysis anyone?

Post by tr.invest »

Anyone know a good Canadian-oriented TA forum? Or willing to discuss it here?

I'm currently having fun learning TA, intrigued by charts, indicators, and figuring out the underlying psychology. But I find I'm talking to myself far too often, and usually in circles. And no, I don't consider it a short-cut to riches or a substitute for fundamental DD.
Brix
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Post by Brix »

It's easy to get the impression that there's far more expert instruction in TA to be found than there is expert practise of the art. Who are the notable successes, the star investors with impressive, durable track records, who rely on technical analysis (yet do not offer instruction via books, seminars, or what have you)?
tr.invest
Contributor
Contributor

Post by tr.invest »

Good point, but then I don't judge a style/technique/methodology based on outspoken "successes". Everything works differently for everyone. Those who are really successful are quietly making their profits (or just controlling their risks) and aren't concerned with teaching the uninformed.