Adding Bonds to an Equity Portfolio?

Discuss your favourite picks, broker, and trading or investment style.
frankrom
Contributor
Contributor

Adding Bonds to an Equity Portfolio?

Post by frankrom »

Hi Everyone,

I am still relatively new to managing my own investments. I have built a 100% equity portfolio but now I may want to begin adding some fixed income assets. Needless to say my experience is surrounding equities and not bonds or other fixed income.

I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on how or what type of fixed income should be added? How do you even add bonds to a self directed account? Do you buy bond ETF's off the exchanges? Any specific recommendations?

Thanks,

Frank
Quebec
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Re: Adding Bonds to an Equity Portfolio?

Post by Quebec »

see finiki first: The simplest solution is to buy and hold a low-MER broad market Canadian bond ETF from one of the top-3 providers (Vanguard, BMO, Blackrock/Ishares). See bond ETFs for specific ticker symbols. These 'plain-vanillla', fully diversified ETFs include bonds from the federal govt, provinces, and corporations, with a range of maturities.
Imagefiniki, the Canadian financial wiki: a knowledge base of financial subjects written from a Canadian perspective
frankrom
Contributor
Contributor

Post by frankrom »

Why just Canadian? Isn't there a benefit to having a mixed bond ETF maybe North American bonds?
AltaRed
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Post by AltaRed »

frankrom wrote: 05 Dec 2017 14:22 Why just Canadian? Isn't there a benefit to having a mixed bond ETF maybe North American bonds?