Starting To Invest; *(Transferred TFSA to Questrade)

Discuss your favourite picks, broker, and trading or investment style.
doom_diver
Contributor
Contributor

Starting To Invest; *(Transferred TFSA to Questrade)

Post by doom_diver »

Hey guys, thought I would come into here for input.

Currently a little shaky about investing into the Canadian stock market, I'm a Canadian resident but I'm having a little bit of trouble as a first time investor getting things worked together. So I come with a couple of questions and just an explanation of my plans.

So I had a TFSA that was sitting at the bank that was only making interest, I've recently opened up a Questrade Account, *(I would've much much rather had a Canadian Equivalent of Robinhood, it's embarassing how slow/worst options Canadians have in comparison to our American counterparts.) I'm starting off with $10,000 dollars.

The companies I'm looking at include; CPR;TSX, CNR;TSX, TSE;ENB, TSE;TRP and maybe some bank stocks/Mutual funds. From my understanding TFSA's arn't meant to be actively traded, so I want to focus on Blue Chip stocks that pay dividends. From my understanding as well I can't purchase American Stocks into a TFSA otherwise it complicated the TFSA *(And isn't tax free when it is American)

Thoughts?
Spudd
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Re: Starting To Invest; *(Transferred TFSA to Questrade)

Post by Spudd »

Why not just buy an index ETF, or several? ETF's are free to buy at Questrade so you would save on transaction fees and get automatic diversification.