Chartwell (Symbol-CSH.UN)

Discuss your favourite picks, broker, and trading or investment style.
donnamcc
Newcomer
Newcomer

Chartwell (Symbol-CSH.UN)

Post by donnamcc »

Need some advice as to best way to recoup losses on this stock (CSH.UN). Have 800 or so bought at 12 dollars.

It's now $3.50 approximately.

The options that have occurred to me are: I could sell, take the loss and buy something else. Or, buy more at current price, keep collecting the dividend, sell when/if it goes up in value. Or, just hold what I have.

Any advice? Other options?

Thanks, this is my first post, I'm a total amateur at the stock thing, but trying to learn.
investor99
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Post by investor99 »

When do you need the money?
The best time to plant an Oak tree was twenty five years ago. The second best time is now.
--
http://themoneygardener.com/
donnamcc
Newcomer
Newcomer

Post by donnamcc »

investor99 wrote:When do you need the money?
Hopefully, barring any disasterous circumstance, about ten years. Oh, and it's in a non-registered account.
augustabound
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Post by augustabound »

Do the same reasons you bought the stock (trust) hold true today?
donnamcc
Newcomer
Newcomer

Post by donnamcc »

augustabound wrote:Do the same reasons you bought the stock (trust) hold true today?
Actually, I had no reasons for buying it. It was inherited.

I guess, in actuality, I haven't taken a loss yet unless I "crystallize" by selling.

Thanks for your thoughtful replies. It's an education to be asked these questions.
SilverVette
Contributor
Contributor

Post by SilverVette »