Tracking USD/CAD Capital Gains and ACB

Income tax policy, rules, problems, strategy and software. Property and consumption taxes too.
SunHe
Newcomer
Newcomer

Tracking USD/CAD Capital Gains and ACB

Post by SunHe »

Hi,
I'm new to your informative forum so forgive me if this is posted in an improper place.

My question is about tracking ACB related to cash. Also, I am a US citizen but Canadian resident. I know there are a lot of other issues related to cross-border investing but for the moment, if you could, help me get a handle on how to track cash correctly.

I have an unregistered brokerage account with both a USD side and CAD side. If I hold, say, a US Vanguard ETF that pays a periodic dividend in USD and that dividend stays in my USD-side account (not in a MMF but just cash) do I still have to track it in both currencies for capital gains purposes? I understand I have pay taxes on the dividends and interest as they are distributed but I am wondering if I have to track the changes in ACB in both currencies.

My strategy is to hold US domiciled ETFs only in my USD side account and then as the cash dividends accrue throughout the year reinvest them. Unlike a US-based brokerage these ETFs don't have automatic reinvestment back into the ETFs shares so they are in cash for a period of time. Does it matter that the dividends are never exchanged for actually CAD or is it a matter of that in the CRA's eyes they are deemed to be priced at CAD exchange rate although held in a foreign currency.

Thanks for help you can provide.

Sun He
DavidR
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Re: Tracking USD/CAD Capital Gains and ACB

Post by DavidR »