Withdrew fund (principle) from non-RSP -question on T5008

Income tax policy, rules, problems, strategy and software. Property and consumption taxes too.
vmlp
Newcomer
Newcomer

Withdrew fund (principle) from non-RSP -question on T5008

Post by vmlp »

Hello All,

Newbie here, I had some cash ($1500) seating in chequing account, I invested in non-RSP (existing account since 2 years with about 20K invested) in may 2017, I withdrew ($1491) that amount before end of year while keeping the earning of it invested.

For tax filing, I need to report the amount posted on T5008, How I claim that I took my principle amount out?

Please let me know.

Thanks,
Vmlp
Peculiar_Investor
Administrator
Administrator

Re: Withdrew fund (principle) from non-RSP -question on T5008

Post by Peculiar_Investor »

Welcome to FWF.

A Return of Securities Transactions (T5008) just reports your securities transactions and is needed to report the gains and losses you incurred in disposing of securities.

Here is a A simple guide to your Trading Summary (T5008) | TD Bank that might also be helpful to understand the fields and what they mean.
vmlp wrote: 06 Feb 2018 12:49 in may 2017, I withdrew ($1491) that amount before end of year while keeping the earning of it invested.

For tax filing, I need to report the amount posted on T5008, How I claim that I took my principle amount out?
Are you using tax preparation software for your tax filing? If so, the tax filing software should guide you on what information is required from the T5008 to prepare your return. If you are not using tax preparation software (or an accountant), then I would strongly advise doing so, it generally makes tax filing much easier and eliminates mistakes.
Imagefiniki, the Canadian financial wiki New editors wanted and welcomed, please help collaborate and improve the wiki.

Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams