RRSP Overcontribution

Income tax policy, rules, problems, strategy and software. Property and consumption taxes too.
bill
Contributor
Contributor

RRSP Overcontribution

Post by bill »

I've been playing RRSP catch up for years, and in 2016 decided to finally max my contributions. This gave me a big tax refund, which I immediately dumped into an RRSP. When I looked at my Tax statement, I read the first part that said my RRSP contribution limit this year is $27000, based on 2016 earnings. I didn't scroll down to see that based on a pension adjustment, my actual room is only $17000. I wasn't paying attention, and didn't realize this until today - feeling stupid right now. I also contributed $5K in July, taking me to $22K already. Anyone ever dealt with something like this? Assuming I take out the extra $5K immediately, should I write to CRA and explain the mistake? I'm worried that this is going to be a mess from a tax standpoint this year.
adrian2
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Re: RRSP Overcontribution

Post by adrian2 »

You don't need to write and explain, you just need to pay the penalty (1% of the overcontribution in excess of $2k, per month). The form you need to fill is kind of complicated, so make sure you follow the instructions.

As for removing the excess, it's already December; next month you'll get new RRSP room which may stop the penalties, do some estimates.
Imagefiniki, the Canadian financial wiki
“It doesn't matter how beautiful your theory is, it doesn't matter how smart you are. If it doesn't agree with experiment, it's wrong.” [Richard P. Feynman, Nobel prize winner]
bill
Contributor
Contributor

Post by bill »

Thanks. I probably need to call CRA and discuss. What I can't figure out is what happens in 2018. If I leave the $ in the account, does it just reduce my contribution room for 2018? I'm assuming I can't deduct the extra $5k in 2017, then would it reduce my contribution room in 2018 as well?