Studio Tax questions

Income tax policy, rules, problems, strategy and software. Property and consumption taxes too.
DenisD
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
Posts: 2504
Joined: 19 Feb 2005 01:24
Location: Calgary

Re: Studio Tax questions

Post by DenisD » 29 Apr 2016 12:21

On later versions of Windows, you can use the Snipping Tool instead of Print Screen to capture part of the screen.

User avatar
AltaRed
Diamond Ring
Diamond Ring
Posts: 18841
Joined: 05 Mar 2005 20:04
Location: Ogopogo Land

Re: Studio Tax questions

Post by AltaRed » 29 Apr 2016 13:32

DenisD wrote:On later versions of Windows, you can use the Snipping Tool instead of Print Screen to capture part of the screen.
I'll be damned! That is handy.
Imagefiniki, the Canadian financial wiki The go-to place to bolster your financial freedom

bpither
Silver Ring
Silver Ring
Posts: 326
Joined: 05 Jan 2009 08:34

Re: Studio Tax questions

Post by bpither » 29 Apr 2016 13:33

I should add that I've never had a problem with printing the Summary or selecting individual forms to print prior to this year. However I was using Windows and now I have a Macbook Air. The Summary is an included Studio Tax form, AltaRed, which sums up/compares the income,deductions and tax payable from this and the previous two tax years. You'll see it under federal forms in the top left hand panel ... at least it does on mine. It's not the bottom left hand panel and starts off "150 Total Income" when you open it.

Just like to keep something handy to compare the past years with my present file, nothing more.

I got around the problem by taking a screenshot, and for those who wish the same - that is, a panel within the body of the software - you push command shift and 4 simultaneously and the cursor changes to a crosshair pointer which you then drag to select the area. When you let go of the mouse it automatically takes the screenshot and puts it on your desktop.

Edited later today ...
Just received an email from the Studio Tax team
You used the “Individual Forms” print option on the Windows version. That option is not available on the Mac.
Last edited by bpither on 29 Apr 2016 20:51, edited 4 times in total.
"We have two classes of forecaster: Those who don’t know and those who don’t know they don’t know.” John Kenneth Galbraith

User avatar
AltaRed
Diamond Ring
Diamond Ring
Posts: 18841
Joined: 05 Mar 2005 20:04
Location: Ogopogo Land

Re: Studio Tax questions

Post by AltaRed » 29 Apr 2016 13:47

Must be different for Macs. In any event, I've not needed to print a Summary using Studio Tax.
Imagefiniki, the Canadian financial wiki The go-to place to bolster your financial freedom

Irwin
Bronze Ring
Bronze Ring
Posts: 52
Joined: 10 Apr 2014 08:31

Re: Studio Tax questions

Post by Irwin » 30 Apr 2016 09:30

2014 Studio Tax result very closely matched my accountant's numbers.

2015 the pro says I owe $200 more tax than Studio Tax shows.

I obviously need to simplify my holdings to the point where I can dispense with the accountant. ha!

How about unlimited TFSA?
- there's a wet dream :shock:

User avatar
CROCKD
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
Posts: 2809
Joined: 15 Aug 2008 16:59
Location: GTA

Re: Studio Tax questions

Post by CROCKD » 30 Apr 2016 15:07

There is always a reason for a discrepancy if programs start with the same input information. That is why I run a check program for StudioTax - in my case it is TaxFreeway and I can always find out why if they do not agree to within a few cents. After inputting all my data I found StudioTax with a $6+ higher refund. On inspection I found that TaxFreeway had not credited Foreign Tax paid from 2 of my T3s, it was a small amount but was not included because I had neglected to tick Foreign Country on the input.
I suggest you get your accountant's tax results and compare them section by section with StudioTax to find the discrepancy.
" A verbal contract isn't worth the paper it is written on " Samuel Goldwyn
"The light at the end of the tunnel may be a freight train coming your way" Metallica - No Leaf Clover

User avatar
CROCKD
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
Posts: 2809
Joined: 15 Aug 2008 16:59
Location: GTA

Re: Studio Tax questions

Post by CROCKD » 23 Dec 2016 13:29

Studio Tax 2016 is now available for download.
" A verbal contract isn't worth the paper it is written on " Samuel Goldwyn
"The light at the end of the tunnel may be a freight train coming your way" Metallica - No Leaf Clover

longinvest
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
Posts: 1517
Joined: 10 Sep 2012 17:26
Location: QC

Re: Studio Tax questions

Post by longinvest » 23 Dec 2016 13:45

CROCKD wrote:Studio Tax 2016 is now available for download.
Thanks! I used it, last year. I liked it.
Bogleheads investment philosophy | Simple index portfolios | Lifelong Portfolio: 25% each of (domestic/international)stocks/(nominal/inflation-indexed)bonds | VCN/VXC/VAB/ZRR

User avatar
CROCKD
Gold Ring
Gold Ring
Posts: 2809
Joined: 15 Aug 2008 16:59
Location: GTA

Re: Studio Tax questions

Post by CROCKD » 08 Jan 2018 14:37

Studio Tax 2017 is now available for download.
I have downloaded and entered most of my data as I know pension amounts, donations etc. The only information I cannot enter is my investment information as some of that will not be available until the beginning of April.
I have chosen not to allow the CRA auto populate option as I am leery of that with reports last year of errors in the data.
" A verbal contract isn't worth the paper it is written on " Samuel Goldwyn
"The light at the end of the tunnel may be a freight train coming your way" Metallica - No Leaf Clover

Post Reply