GIS Maximization Strategy

Preparing for life after work. RRSPs, RRIFs, TFSAs, annuities and meeting future financial and psychological needs.
gsp_
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

GIS Maximization Strategy

Post by gsp_ »

As I've mentioned briefly in a few previous threads I'm helping a family member with her retirement planning that will rely heavily on GIS. I've tried to learn a good deal about the program and came up with an RRSP withdrawal strategy and a twist(more on this later) I'd like to run by the group. Being in my 30s I have no direct experience with this or other retirement programs and could easily be missing some key points, your corrections and comments are appreciated.

Retirement income after 65: QPP about $3500/year, no pension income, full OAS/GIS eligibility.
Assets: House(~220k), 65k RRSP in passive ETFs. Enough HISA TFSA funds for living expenses until age 65(August 2016).

This person has always been very frugal so I'm not worried about her having enough income now or after 65. She's confirmed QPP + OAS + GIS will be more than is required to meet her basic needs.

Strategy
My recommendation is that she withdraw her entire RRSP before turning 65, at a rate of ~30k/year (average tax rate of 21%) and dump the proceeds in a TFSA and in taxable swap ETFs. This will ensure little to no income above QPP and maximize GIS. At current rates assuming $3500/year of total income GIS would be $571.86/month or $6862/year. $290 QPP + 552 OAS + 572 GIS = $1414 per month or just under 17k/year, all indexed to inflation. Far from a princely sum but more than enough for her frugal needs. Since GIS is not taxable she should not pay any income tax unless/until she cashes in her taxable ETFs.

GIS used to get universally reduced at 50% for any income up to the (now $16728) limit. However when the Top Up was introduced in 2011 this affected the clawback between roughly 2k to 4.4k of income, it is 75%.