Planning for Retirement

Preparing for life after work. RRSPs, RRIFs, TFSAs, annuities and meeting future financial and psychological needs.
investnoob
Contributor
Contributor

Planning for Retirement

Post by investnoob »

Hello all. I'm new to investing. Really, I'm actually new to "personal finance."

I've finally taken an interest in saving. Not just for retirement but for
other things as well (i.e., home repairs, vacations, maybe even a car).

I don't really know if anyone is interested in helping me out with some questions that I may have as I get the feeling that I may be taking advantage of everyone's generosity. But here goes...

I'm 31. I'm an employee of the federal government. Male, single.

Gross Income = 71,400. Net Monthly income = 4150

Assets:

- House, about 20K in equity (at purchase price)
- Fed gov pension plan (on track to retire at 55 with 32 yrs service
this would give me a pension income of 64% of pre-retirement income)
My last pension statement indicates that it is currently worth about 60k.
- 3500 in savings.

Liabilities:

- Mortgage. In yr 3 of 5 yr term.
6.5%. Mortgage was for $172000 amortized over 25 yrs
but I've been making bi-monthly payments to pay it off faster
the amortisation schedule has me paying it off in just over
20 yrs.

- (In the last 8 months, I've paid off about 4k in credit card debt,
and 6k that remained on my student loan.)

Financial Goals

Short Term Goal: Over the next 3-4 months, save 4500 more for an emergency fund for a total of 8k.

Long Term Goals: Pre-pay mortgage and Start two pools of savings.

1. Pre-pay mortgage

2. 1 pool for retirement. I would use this to supplement my pension income which, based on my current salary, would be 45400 per year. I'm hoping to be able to have an extra 10-15k a year to travel, give away, or have fun with.