Non-registered investment account advice sought

Asset allocation, risk, diversification and rebalancing. Pros/cons of hiring a financial advisor. Seeking advice on your portfolio?
Rhinox87
Contributor
Contributor

Non-registered investment account advice sought

Post by Rhinox87 »

Hi,

I'm in my early 30's and married. Both wife and I work in healthcare and are entitled to DB pensions. We will be in position to max our TFSA' as well as the RRSP accounts early next year. We own a home and pay >100% of required payments to pay off the mortgage early.

Now that our registered accounts are nearly maxed out, I'm curious as to what investments would be the best for a non-registered account. We could simply do a CCP but I wonder if a dividend strategy should be considered to minimize taxes. My current marginal tax rate is 41% and the projected DB payout at 58 (my factor 85 age) will be a marginal tax rate of 36%, not considering any other income source.

Alternatively, should other investments outside of stocks/bonds be considered?

Any advice is appreciated.
AltaRed
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Re: Non-registered investment account advice sought

Post by AltaRed »

I wouldn't dismiss a CCP portfolio outright if your time is better invested in your careers and social relationships than spending it on stock picking.

Howeer, if you wish to consider a DIY stock picking portfolio for your non-reg account, you may wish focus on Total Return as a key metric with dividend yield a secondary factor during the accumulation phase of your investment horizon. Depending on tax bracket (which you allude to as 41% currently and an estimated* 36% upon retirement, total return performance will grow the investments the most, while deferring tax to the distant future (via capital gain crystallization) will be more tax efficient than dividend income, even with the dividend tax credit.

I've never been a believer in alternative investments....so no recommendations from me.