No pension, small inheritance, age 53... to RE or not to RE?

Asset allocation, risk, diversification and rebalancing. Pros/cons of hiring a financial advisor. Seeking advice on your portfolio?
m-set
Contributor
Contributor

No pension, small inheritance, age 53... to RE or not to RE?

Post by m-set »

Hi everyone

I'll try to keep this short, but it may go a little long.

I'm 53 years old, with no dependents and 0 debt. I'm a musician and music transcriber and have no pension plan. I saved some money over the past 15 years, but not much and unfortunately I didn't put it in the markets, just kept it in extremely low yielding instruments.

I recently got a small inheritance. My liquid net worth is now about $250K. Think of it as basically being in cash right now.

I've never owned a home. I thought now might be the time to buy a condo here in Toronto. The chartered banks just laughed at me because as a as a self-employed person, my T1's don't look like much. The non-bank lenders have been much more receptive and my mortgage broker tells me I can get a loan for a condo worth up to (max) $400K, probably paying 3.4%. However... to get that loan I have to put a huge chunk down. He said 'assume 50% and I can maybe get it down to 43%'. I'm looking at putting up to $200K down when all expenses are figured in.

So here's my question. Is this even a good idea at my stage in life? I know that capital gains on a primary dwelling are tax-exempt. That has to be huge. Even if the Toronto RE market corrects, I feel like it will be okay over the next 20 years. But then I read articles which ask the question 'Are you sure you shouldn't just keep renting'? It feels kind of bad to have to put this huge chunk down.