Intro/portfolio help

Asset allocation, risk, diversification and rebalancing. Pros/cons of hiring a financial advisor. Seeking advice on your portfolio?
Strengthnhealth
Contributor
Contributor

Intro/portfolio help

Post by Strengthnhealth »

Hello
I'm a 54 year old novice diy investor. Looking to retire at 60.
RRSP are maxed. Becuase of DBP can only add about $8000/year.
No depts. House worth $600000.
Divorced, girlfreind/comon law.
Tax rate 43%, Alberta.
DBP with work. Unsure of exact amount. At 60(15 years) looks like around 1500-2000/month.
Current portfolio. Canadian:
TD comfort balanced $33569.RRSP
TD monthly income $34319.RRSP
CIBC $45000. RRSP
Cash $25000.
I had money in a money market account & cash that I wanted to invest so started reading up on Contrairian investing earlier this year. Started following Brett Owens advice shortly after but now not sure if its the right way to go. Mostly American advice. Big on dividends.
Investments with online broker: CEF's.
RRSP $49000 USD
LIRA :funds $5800 USD
- Cash: $10000 USD
TFSA: funds; $33000 USD
-Cash: $1200 USD
Margin: $6300 USD
Thinking of switching some of these to Vanguards S&P US INDEX funds since it's is in USD already.
The more I read the more confused Im getting lately.
Any advice appreciated.
Quebec
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Re: Intro/portfolio help

Post by Quebec »

Hi,

Welcome to the forum.

What comes 1st, IMO, is the big picture stuff:

---

1. What is your goal with these investments? You mention retirement in 5 years. But will you need to make withdrawals immediately at age 60? To know this (if you don't already), you need a retirement cash flow projection. How much do you need every year to live on, during retirement, in today's dollars?