Taxable Account Planning - US Expat

Asset allocation, risk, diversification and rebalancing. Pros/cons of hiring a financial advisor. Seeking advice on your portfolio?
AnimExpat22
Newcomer
Newcomer

Taxable Account Planning - US Expat

Post by AnimExpat22 »

Hi there,

First time poster here. I have some investing/overall planning questions that I hope I can get some advice with here. I appreciate any and all input.

Background Information

-US Citizen working and living in Vancouver BC, Canada. I have a 2 year old son and my wife is also a US Citizen. She does not work as currently. We are new to Canada and still working on getting PR but hopefully should have it within the next 12 months. I work in the film industry which is quite big here at the moment and we'd love to be able to settle here permanently but ultimately unsure whether retirement is in USA or Canada.
-Salary: $110k CAD
-Saving around $35k-40K CAD annually in addition to maxing out my RRSP of approximately $20K.
-Zero Debt
-Have a 3-6 month emergency fund plus ample credit to cover immediate emergencies if needed.
-Maintain an address in the States with a relative to keep my banking with US addresses. Already have a Vanguard taxable brokerage plus my retirement accounts (see below) are all there as well besides one account at Fidelity from a previous employer.
-I am aware of the taxation issues with TFSAs as well as not being able to contribute to US Tax sheltered accounts (Roth IRA, IRA, 401k, etc). We have filed taxes in Canada so I've encountered some of the basic issues already.
-Ideally we would like to buy property someday but it's insanely expensive here. Would not be in the foreseeable future.
-80/20 Asset allocation goal for retirement accounts. Need a bit of rebalancing currently a bit heavy on stocks currently.

USA Accounts

$7,300 USD VTI - Rollover IRA (Vanguard)
$17,700 USD - VTI - Rollover IRA (Fidelity)
$11,700 USD -VTI - Roth IRA (Vanguard)