Where are you in your investing life cycle?

Asset allocation, risk, diversification and rebalancing. Pros/cons of hiring a financial advisor. Seeking advice on your portfolio?

Early accumulation phase
15%
Middle accumulation phase
20%
late accumulation phase
30%
Withdrawal phase
35%

Total votes: 113

StuBee
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Post by StuBee »

Obviously, this may be quite subjective. However it is how we perceive ourselves to be which counts the most.

I define "Early accumulation" as someone who is beginning. The finances of this individual will still be dominated by a mortgage (or a potential mortgage) if they are (or anticipate being) a home owner. I would define them with the following descriptors: "I am just beginning" or "I am less than 1/3 of the way there" or "I must deal with my debt".
I define "Middle accumulation" as someone who feels that they are somewhere between 1/3 and 2/3 of the way to "goal".
I define "late accumulation" as: "almost there" or "more than 2/3 of the way there"
I define "withdrawal phase" the individual who is "withdrawing more than they are accumulating" generally or considers themselves to be "living off of their investments"

I voted for late accumulation.

StuBee
"The term is over: the holidays have begun. The dream is ended: this is the morning."-C.S.Lewis, The Last Battle
kcowan
Veteran Contributor
Veteran Contributor

Re: Where are you in your investing life cycle?

Post by kcowan »

I voted for Late accumulation because I have only been retired for 10 years and I am still accumulating.

Maybe after Armageddon, I will enter withdrawal phase?
For the fun of it...Keith
j831robert
Contributor
Contributor

Post by j831robert »